UN treaty on rights of migrant workers to enter into force 1

The International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of their Families, which was adopted by the UN General Assembly in 1990, will enter into force on 1 July.The treaty recognizes the importance and extent of the migration phenomenon, which involves millions of people and affects an increasing number of States, and looks to establish norms that may contribute to the acceptance of basic principles concerning the treatment of migrant workers and their families.Among the other countries that have ratified the accord are Azerbaijan, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cape Verde, Colombia, Ecuador, Egypt, Ghana and Guinea.The others include Mexico, Morocco, Philippines, Senegal, Seychelles, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Uganda and Uruguay.

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *